What are API classifications?

What are API classifications?

The current API Service Classification is SN The suffixes (0, 5, 10, 15 and 25) followed by the letter W designate the engine oil’s “winter” grade. Look to your owner’s manual. It specifies the viscosity grade required for your car’s engine. Today, the most common grades are 5W-30 and 10W-30.

What is API service classification for oil?

The service rating of passenger car and commercial automotive motor oils is classified by the American Petroleum Institute (API). The program certifies that an oil meets certain Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) quality and performance standards.

What does API Service SL mean?

SL. 2001 Gasoline Engine Service. Category SL was adopted to describe engine oils for use in 2001. It is for use in service typical of gasoline engines in present and earlier passenger cars, sports utility vehicles, vans and light trucks operating under vehicle manufacturers recommended maintenance procedures.

What are SAE numbers?

SAE number, code for specifying the viscosity of lubricating oil, established by the U.S. Society of Automotive Engineers. The numbers for crankcase lubricants range from 5 to 50, for transmission and axle lubricants they range from 75 to 250; the lower the number, the more readily the oil flows.

What is the difference between API SN and SM?

The API SN category is an improvement over the API SM category in the following areas: High temperature deposit protection for pistons. Better sludge control. Better seal compatibility.

What is the difference between ci4 and CJ4?

“Until June 2007, there are still going to be some pockets of high-sulfur fuel available for off-road equipment,” Chao says, “and CI-4 was designed for this high sulfur fuel.” CJ-4 was formulated with enough alkaline reserve to combat 500 ppm fuel, but not the high sulfur 5,000 ppm fuel.

What does API mean in motor oil?

The American Petroleum Institute
The American Petroleum Institute, API, is a U.S.A trade association for the oil and natural gas industry.

What is API SL grade oil?

API continues to license engine oils against API SL and it is considered to be a current specification. Oils that satisfy API Service Category SL are superior in performance to those meeting API SJ and earlier and can effectively lubricate engines calling for those Service Categories.

What is the difference between SAE and API?

SAE is the Society Of Automotive Engineers (USA). The SAE rating of an oil is a measure of its viscosity (eg 20W50). API is the American Petroleum Institute. The API rating of an engine oil covers the performance rating of the oil (e.g. SM for petrol, CF for diesel).

What is the API service category for oils?

Oils may have more than one performance level. For automotive gasoline engines, the latest API Service Category includes the performance properties of each earlier category and can be used to service older engines where earlier category oils were recommended.

What is the difference between API CE and API cf-4 oils?

API CF-4 oils exceed the requirements for the API CE category, providing improved control of oil consumption and piston deposits. These oils should be used in place of API CE oils. They are particularly suited for on-highway, heavy-duty truck applications.

Can CK-4 oil be used with API service categories?

API CK-4 oils exceed the performance criteria of API CJ-4, CI-4 with CI-4 PLUS, CI-4, and CH-4 and can effectively lubricate engines calling for those API Service Categories. When using CK-4 oil with higher than 15 ppm sulfur fuel, consult the engine manufacturer for service interval recommendations.

What is an API FA-4 oil?

API FA-4 and the FA-4 Donut identify certain XW-30 oils specifically formulated for use in select high-speed four-stroke cycle diesel engines designed to meet 2017 model year on-highway greenhouse gas (GHG) emission standards. API FA-4 oils are not interchangeable or backward compatible with API CK-4, CJ-4, CI-4 PLUS, CI-4, and CH-4 oils.