What is the difference between Woodcock-Johnson and WISC?

What is the difference between Woodcock-Johnson and WISC?

Research has indicated that the Woodcock-Johnson indices proved to correlate a better with achievement compared to the WISC. It was also found that learning disabled students performed more poorly on the WJ Tests of Cognitive Abilities than on the WISC-R.

What is the difference between Woodcock-Johnson III and IV?

The Woodcock-Johnson-III Tests of Achievement (WJ-IV-ACH) includes 22 oral language and achievement tests in Forms A and B. The Woodcock-Johnson-IV Tests of Achievement Form C/Brief Battery (WJ-III-Form C/Brief Battery) includes a third form with nine achievement tests.

Is the Woodcock-Johnson III still valid?

The Woodcock-Johnson Tests (WJ III) is a valid and reliable assessment tool of both cognitive abilities and achievement among children and adults. It is based on the most current theoretical model of intelligence, Cattell-Horn-Carroll (CHC) theory.

Is there a Woodcock-Johnson v?

The Woodcock-Johnson IV Tests of Achievement (WJ IV ACH) are ideal for accurately screening, diagnosing, and monitoring progress in reading, writing, and mathematics achievement with the 11-test standard battery.

What is the WJ IV cog?

The Woodcock-Johnson IV Tests of Cognitive Abilities –Fourth Edition (WJ-IV COG; Schrank, McGrew, & Mather, 2014) is an individually-administered, norm-referenced instrument that measures general intellectual ability (g) and specific cognitive abilities in persons age 2 to 90+ years old.

What does WJ cog measure?

Is the WISC-IV reliable and valid?

The majority of the subtest reliability coefficients across special groups are similar to or higher than those coefficients reported for the normative sample, suggesting that the WISC–IV is equally reliable instrument for assessing children who are developing typically and children with clinical diagnoses.

What is the Woodcock-Johnson III (WJ-III test)?

Previously, the Woodcock-Johnson III test ( also known as the WJ-III test) was used to develop intelligence index scores for the General Intellectual Ability (GIA) and Brief Intellectual Ability (BIA). With the introduction of the WJ IV test, there are now three test batteries, which can be used independently or in combination. Those batteries are:

What is the WJ IV test of cognitive abilities?

The WJ IV Tests of Cognitive Abilities. This test is used to identify learning problems and individual strengths and weaknesses. This is similar to other intelligence tests such as the Stanford-Binet and Wechsler Intelligence tests.

What are the three types of WJ IV scoring ranges?

The three types of WJ IV scoring ranges that are provided upon completing the exam are the level of development, comparison with peers and degree of proficiency scores. Level of development scores are designed to explain the scores in terms of age equivalents and grade equivalents.

What tests were replaced in the WJ III?

The Tests of Achievement Story Recall, Understanding Directions, Picture Vocabulary and Oral Comprehension tests in the WJ III were replaced with the WJ IV Cognitive Battery, WJ IV Oral Language Battery, WJ IV Oral Language Battery, and WJ IV Oral Language Battery.