What was the name of the 13th Dalai Lama?

What was the name of the 13th Dalai Lama?

13th Dalai Lama

Thubten Gyatso
Died 17 December 1933 (aged 57) Lhasa, Tibet
Resting place Potala Palace
Religion Tibetan Buddhism
Nationality Tibetan

Are all Dalai Lamas Tibetan?

From 1642 until 1705 and from 1750 to the 1950s, the Dalai Lamas or their regents headed the Tibetan government (or Ganden Phodrang) in Lhasa which governed all or most of the Tibetan Plateau with varying degrees of autonomy….

Dalai Lama
Website dalailama.com

What is the current name of the Dalai Lama?

The 14th Dalai Lama (spiritual name Jetsun Jamphel Ngawang Lobsang Yeshe Tenzin Gyatso, known as Tenzin Gyatso; born Lhamo Dhondup ), known as Gyalwa Rinpoche to the Tibetan people, is the current Dalai Lama, the highest spiritual leader of Tibet, and a retired political leader of Tibet.

How many incarnations of the Dalai Lama have there been?

This is a list of Dalai Lamas of Tibet. There have been 14 recognised incarnations of the Dalai Lama. There has also been one non-recognised Dalai Lama, Ngawang Yeshe Gyatso (declared in 1707), by Lha-bzang Khan as the “true” 6th Dalai Lama – however, he was never accepted as such by the majority of the population.

How was the 14th Dalai Lama chosen?

He was selected as the tulku of the 13th Dalai Lama in 1937 and formally recognized as the 14th Dalai Lama in a public declaration near the town of Bumchen in 1939. As with the recognition process for the 13th Dalai Lama, a Golden Urn selection process was not used.

How did the Dalai Lama become the leader of Tibet?

In 1642, the 5th Dalai Lama, Lobsang Gyatso, became the spiritual and political leader of all of Tibet, an authority passed on to his successors. Since that time the succession of Dalai Lamas has been at the center of both Tibetan Buddhism and the history of the Tibetan people.