Who is Col of the 8 GR?

Who is Col of the 8 GR?

8th Gorkha Rifles
Battle honours Post Independence Punch Chushul Sanjoi and Mirpur Theatre Honours Jammu & Kashmir 1948 Ladakh 1962 Jammu & Kashmir, 1965
Colonel of the Regiment Lt Gen P N Ananthanarayanan, SM
Notable commanders Field Marshal Sam Manekshaw

How many Gorkha Rifles are there in India?

Current regimental strength Currently, there are 39 battalions serving in 7 Gorkha regiments in the Indian Army. Six regiments were transferred from the British Indian Army, while one was formed after independence; 1 Gorkha Rifles – 6 battalions (previously 1st King George V’s Own Gurkha Rifles (The Malaun Regiment))

Can a non Gorkha join Gorkha Rifles?

Till now, only Nepal-Domiciled Gorkhas and Indian-Domiciled Gorkhas were recruited into Gorkha Rifles regiments. In a major policy decision, the Army Headquarters has sanctioned the recruitment of non-Gorkha personnel from Uttarakhand into select Gorkha Rifles (GR) regiments.

Why is Gorkha Regiment so special?

Currently, the Indian army is indebted to the service of 40,000 brave Gorkha soldiers in 42 different battalions of 7 regiments. One of the most famous platoon of Gorkhas, 1/11 Gorkha Rifles is one of the most decorated with 11 vir Chakras, 2 Maha Vir Chakras, 3 Ashok Chakras and 1 Param Vir Chakra.

Who is the No 1 regiment in Indian Army?

1. Sikh Regiment. Motto–Nischay Kar Apni Jeet Karon (With determination, I will be triumphant).

Who comes under Gorkha?

The Gurkha units are composed of Nepalis and are recruited for the Nepali Army (96000), Indian Army (42000), British Army (4010), Gurkha Contingent Singapore, Gurkha Reserve Unit Brunei, UN peacekeeping forces and in war zones around the world.

Can Indian Gorkha join British Army?

The British Army recruits approximately 300 – 400 individuals every year. In order to apply you must be Nepalese (Nepalese birth certificate) and live in Nepal.

Which is the most bravest regiment in Indian Army?

The Sikh Regiment was the first unit to have been bestowed with the Honour of The “Bravest of The Brave” by the Chief of Army Staff on 15 January 1997.