Is Iowa DOT appointment only?
If you must come into an Iowa DOT-operated service center for driver’s license or identification services, you will need to make an appointment. Click the button below to access our online tool to help you walk through your service options.
How long can you drive on expired tags in Iowa?
A person shall not be considered to be driving a motor vehicle with an expired registration for a period of one month following the expiration date of the vehicle registration. The one-month period shall be the same as the period defined in section 321.134, subsection 1.
How do I contact Iowa DOT?
If you need more information or special assistance for persons with disabilities or limited English proficiency, contact Iowa DOT Civil Rights at 515-239-1111 or by email at [email protected]
How long do you have to renew your driver’s license after it expires in Iowa?
The license is valid for driving in the State of Iowa for an additional 60 days after the expiration date. Beware that other States may not recognize the 60-day grace period and you may be ticketed at any point after the expiration date printed on the license when driving outside of the State of Iowa.
How do I contact Iowa DMV?
Please contact the office in your county….Services and appointments.
|Cedar Rapids||319-377-6461||More information|
What happens if you get pulled over with expired tags in Iowa?
Yes, you can get pulled over for expired, missing, or non-visible registration tags on your car or motorcycle. This is considered a non-moving violation and can carry fines. If a police offer notices you driving with expired or missing license plate tags, they will pull you over and give you a fine.