What constitutes elder abuse in Georgia?

What constitutes elder abuse in Georgia?

Abuse: Hitting, beating, slapping, pushing or pinching; improperly using restraints; improperly using medications; withholding food, water or medications; inflicting mental pain, anguish or distress through verbal or non-verbal acts; non-consensual sexual contact of any kind; or threatening someone with violence.

Who do you report elder abuse to in Georgia?

Report Suspected Abuse You can report elder abuse by phone or online. Call Georgia’s Aging and Disability Network at 1-866-552-4464, select your preferred language option, and select option 3 to report abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a disabled adult or senior citizen.

Is elder abuse a felony in Georgia?

To be clear—in Georgia, elder abuse is a crime. Under Georgia law, it is a felony for any person to knowingly and willfully exploit, inflict physical pain, physical injury, sexually abuse, impose mental anguish upon, unreasonably confine or deprive of essential services an elder person or disabled adult.

How do I report a concern to an elderly person?

Call our advice line for free on 0800 678 1602, or contact your local Age UK.

What to do if someone is taking advantage of a disabled person?

Services (APS) Hotline at 1-866-800-1409 to report any concerns of financial exploitation against a person with a disability or older adult.

What is exploitation of a disabled person?

Exploitation—Illegal taking, misuse, or concealment of funds, property or assets of a vulnerable person. Identity theft is also considered a form of exploitation. Neglect—Refusal or failure by those responsible to provide food, shelter, health care or protection for a vulnerable person.

How do I report an assisted living facility in Georgia?

To report suspected elder abuse, neglect, or exploitation in Georgia:

  1. 1-888-774-0152 (For suspected elder mistreatment in the home).
  2. 404-657-5250 (For suspected elder mistreatment in the home, Metro-Atlanta area).
  3. 1-800-878-6442 (For suspected elder mistreatment in long-term care facilities).

What Georgia Code defines neglect?

§ 16-5-101 – Neglect to a disabled adult, elder person, or resident.

What are the harassment laws in Georgia?

Harassing communications is a misdemeanor offense in Georgia, which means the maximum punishment is 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine for each offense. The offense will be prosecuted in the county where either the person made the phone call or sent the text, or where the phone call or text was received.

What to do when someone cant take care of themselves?

What families, friends, neighbors, and service providers can do to help.

  • Learn what signs and symptoms to look for.
  • Help the adult to reduce isolation as much as possible.
  • Stay in contact.
  • Talk to the person.
  • Help the person accept help from others.
  • Help the person get any services he or she may need.