What is the basic principle of democracy answer?

What is the basic principle of democracy answer?

Democracy is a system of rule by laws, not individuals. In a democracy, the rule of law protects the rights of citizens, maintains order, and limits the power of government. All citizens are equal under the law. No one may be discriminated against on the basis of their race, religion, ethnic group, or gender.

What is democratic society?

Democracy, which derives from the Greek word demos, or people, is defined, basi- cally, as government in which the supreme power is vested in the people. In some forms, democracy can be exercised directly by the people; in large societies, it is by the people through their elected agents.

How the division of power between higher and lower level of government is known as Class 10?

The division of higher and lower levels of government is called the vertical division of power.

Why is power sharing necessary?

Power sharing is the need in democracy to make prudential and moral decisions. It helps in reducing the possibility of conflict between the social groups. Since social conflict often leads to violence and political instability, power sharing is a good way to ensure the stability of political order.

What are the key features of federalism?

Five key features of Federalism

  • There are two or more levels of government.
  • Various levels of government control the same people, but in particular matters of law, taxation and administration, each level has its own Authority.
  • Constitutionally, the presence and authority of each level of government are guaranteed.

What is meant by power sharing in a democracy?

1.Power sharing- Definition (slide 3) A system of political arrangement in which powers are shared between various organs of the government, between various of levels of the government & also between various social groups & Pressure groups.

Under which of the following is power shared in the community?

Answer. Answer: In Belgium, the form of power sharing is the horizontal distribution of power where the power was divided between the legislature, excutive, and judiciary.

What are types of power sharing?

Major forms of power sharing in modern democracy are:

  • Power sharing among different Organs of the Government: In democracy, power is shared among Legislature, Executive and Juduciary.
  • Governments at different levels: In federal form of government, power is shared between the central and state governments.

What are some examples of a democracy?

The United States and Nigeria are examples of presidential democracies. The executive branch includes the president and his cabinet. Along with the judicial and legislative branch, the three branches of government work to keep checks and balances, but the president has final say.

What are the three forms of power sharing?

The three forms of power sharing in modern democracy are vertical division of power, horizontal division of power and political division among social groups and political parties.

What is the horizontal power sharing?

The power that is shared among different organs of government equally is known as horizontal power sharing. Horizontal power sharing places all the organs of the government, i.e., legislature, executive and judiciary at the same level.